Working with, the Canadian Pacific Trials Association  the Honda Centre is sponsoring two Trials in 2018
and, a Trials demonstration at, Vintage in the Valley


Get the PDF Application Form Here
COMPETITION –  Join the Canadian Motorcycle Association (CMA) Appication PDF Form


It was one of the 2 building blocks (the other being road racing) that formed the base for competition activities when the Canadian Motorcycle Association was formed in 1946.
The first Canadian Championships were held in 1949.
Internationally, competing in the famous Scottish Six Day Trials which started in1909 is considered by many, to be pinnacle of achievement for a dirt rider
   The pictures below includes Franta Juhan, the Honda Centre’s founder, with the medal winning Czech Trophy Team, and the original poster from 1937.
Britain won, and the Czech team was second.

Motorcycle trials, also known as observed trials, is a non-speed event on specialised like motorcycles , like the Honda Montesa Cota, ridden by multiple Wold Champion Toni Bou.
While Trials can be a very challenging and dramatic sport you do not have to be Toni Bou to enjoy it. The local clubs have classes for riders of all abilities, from beginners on up.
Sections are adjusted to the different skill levels. There is something challenging for every level and it seems, smiles are mandatory at a Trials.
Of all the motorcycle sports, it is probably the most “family-friendly”, and kids can enjoy healthy competition, alongside their Moms and Dads.
Trials are easy on the environment because, of the nature of the bikes, and the competitions, environmental damage is minimal.
It is an international sport that most popular in Europe with enthusiasts in every region of Canada, especially here on the West Coast.
Modern trials motorcycles are distinctive in that they have evolved to become extremely lightweight, lack seating (they are designed to be ridden standing up)
and have suspension travel that is short, relative to motocross, or enduro motorcycles.

The Observed Trial

The event is split into sections where a competitor rides through an obstacle course while attempting to avoid touching the ground with the feet.
The obstacles in the course may be of natural or constructed elements. In all sections, regardless of content, the designated route is carefully contrived to test the skill of the rider.
In many local observed trials events, the sections are divided into separate courses to accommodate the different skill level of riders, who compete in skill-rated classes.
In every section, the competitor is scored by an observer (hence the sport’s name) who counts how many times the competitor touches the ground with the foot (or any other part of the body).
Each time a competitor touches the ground with a foot (commonly called “dabs” or “prods”), the penalty is one point.
The possible scores in each section consist of 0, 1, 2, 3, or 5. If a competitor makes their way through the section without touching the ground with a foot, they earn a score of 0 (which is called “cleaning the section”).
If they touch the ground once, they receive a score of 1. If they touch down twice, they receive a score of 2. If they touch the ground three or more times,
they earn a score of 3—as long as they complete the section without stalling the motor, dismounting, going out of bounds, or going backward.
If the competitor fails to complete the section a score of 5 (sometimes colourfully called “a fiasco”) is earned.
The winner is the competitor with the fewest points at the end of the event.


A section is a single segment of the observed trials competition. There can be any number of sections at any given observed trials competition, but the typical number is between five and ten.
Sections should be of a natural and artificial mix, varying in length, difficulty and the type of obstacles, testing the skills of the rider in balance, strength, agility and endurance.

Trials Categories

National and regional events may have different names, for the skills levels of the competitors, but in general, there are usually four classes roughly geared to the skill level of the competitor.
These levels may include, Novice, Intermediate, Advanced and Expert. There are often differences due, to regional and club preferences but in general, there are classes for almost every skill level.



99 Trials Association(Squamish, BC)

  • ATAQ(Amateur Trials Association of Quebec)
  • ATRA(Alberta Trials Riders Association)
  • BCORMA(British Columbia Off-Road Motorcycle Association)
  • CMA(Canadian Motorcycle Association)
  • COTA(Columbia Observed Trials Association, Portland, OR)
  • CPTA Bicycle Trials
  • CVMG(Canadian Vintage Motorcycle Group)
  • INWTA(Inland Northwest Trials Association, Spokane, WA)
  • NSORRA(Nova Scotia Off Road Rider’s Association)
  • PNTA(Puget Sound Trialers, Seattle, WA)
  • PNWMA(Pacific North West Motorcycle Association)
  • SFTA(Saskatchewan Flatlands Trials Association)
  • SOVT(Southwestern Ontario Vintage Trials Group)
  • Trials Canada(Canadian trials news and events)
  • VMC(Victoria Motorcycle Club,Vancouver Island)
  • WTC(World Trials Canada)


Special Offers & Newsletter

Industry, product and promotional updates for those who believe that knowledge is power and that brand loyalty deserves to be rewarded.